top of page

Love Trio in Dub featuring U-Roy is all at once a return to the best times of reggae and dub while a window into the future of the genres.  U-Roy sounds like the legend and originator that he indeed is.   Mixed with the Nublu regulars/downtown-tronica guys Love Trio he comes across as never before. This 12″ is from the soon to be released self-titled full-length CD from the group.  This collaboration between U-Roy and Love Trio is for sure a record for the collectors of dub and reggae of the past as well as fans of Thievery Corporation and Herbert. Great  guest  appearances  on vocals by lead singers Sabina Sciubba and Marla Turner (Brazilian Girls and Wax Poetic respectively) add to this cool mash up of dub and electronica.  Put the track Lovers Rock on for a minute and it makes you feel you’re listening to one of the great 45s of the 1970s, but soon you realize it’s actually 2005. The best news is that these players are the “its”  when it comes to playing live. Ilhan Ersahin, Jesse Murphy and Kenny Wollesen  have already performed in Brazil, Istanbul and NYC as Love Trio  as well as individual sidemen to Tom Waits, Bill Frisell, Eddie Henderson, Erik Truffaz, John Zorn…  Ilhan is the man behind the band Wax Poetic and Jesse is also the bass man for Brazilian Girls.  Montreal native, Deadbeat, contributes a stunning remix of Lovers Rock to the vinyl, demonstrating his powers in minimal dub and bass.  DJ Cil ‘s mix of Flight in Dub is an organic banger with rolling bass lines that build the track into the stars.




“Reference points from Egyptian strings to Black Ark-ish keys to complement the rock solid yet unusual dub grooves.”



David Dacks


“Love Trio in Dub makes great use of U-Roy, but in a 21st-century, downtown New York setting, with Ersahin's sterling synthesizer waves, Tom Waits aficionado Kenny Wolleson's dubbed-out drums, and Brazilian Girls bassist Jesse Murphy's backbone thump morphing into a Turntables on the Hudson-style, post-world-music vibe.”



Justin Hopper



    GENRE: Indie

    RELEASE DATE: 04/18/2015

    SPECS: 140gr, Gatefold with Download code



    Ilhan Ersahin - Keys & Saxophone

    Jesse Murphy - Bass

    Kenny Wollesen - Drums

    U-Roy - Vocals


bottom of page